Montreal QB Jonathan Senecal wins Hec Crighton Trophy

The Montreal Carabins quarterback, Senecal, received the Hec Crighton Trophy at U Sport Football’s Awards ceremony. This event is held every year, and the winner of the trophy is the best Canadian University football player. Senecal is the first Carabin to receive the honor.

The 24-year-old Senecal took the frontal position of RSEQ and finished with 160 out of 230 passes, coupled with a 2,215-yard run and 15 touchdowns to his credit. There were only four interceptions. The business administration student ran for 394 yards on 34 carries, good for fourth in the league, and scored six times.

Senecal took Montreal through a 7-1 normal season record. Next will be the Carabins up against the University of British Columbia for the Vanier Cup, which will be played out at the Richardson Stadium. 

The other recipients of the award are Chris Morris of Alberta, Harold Miessan of Montreal, Justin Cloutier of Laval, Mark Mauhaus of Manitoba, and Theo Benedet of UBC.

Benedet, of North Vancouver, British Columbia, also won the J.P. Metras Trophy for the second consecutive year, is the first offensive lineman to accomplish this feat. Arnaud Gascon-Nadon and Mathieu Betts of Laval were also in line.

In the words of Benedet, playing on the offensive line and winning the game for his fellow team members is indeed an exciting moment. As per the latest Canadian gaming news, He draws his inspiration from players like Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, who is a retired NFL guard. 

Miessan, a 24-year-old linebacker from Montreal, came up with the figures of 36 tackles and 2 interceptions. He is in his third year of studying industrial design.

With a 6-2 record and the second-place position in Canada West, Morris led the Alberta Golden Bears to victory. It’s the first time the school has gone undefeated since 2005. Alberta has made the playoffs three times in the last four years under the direction of the former Canadian Football League offensive lineman and three-time Grey Cup winner.

Cloutier of Quebec City, who represented Laval in seven regular season contests, was subjected to 28.5 tackles. In addition to Mathieu Betts, Hugo Richard, and Jean-Fredrick Tremblay, he became the fourth player to have been awarded the trophy.  

This year saw the introduction of two new designations: rush/cover and utility (fullback/tight end/H-back).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *